About Me

This blog was created to help others avoid the pitfalls I had -- wasting money on expensive foods that didn't have a good taste or texture, not knowing about hidden gluten, and feeling frustrated and hangry.  I have been living gluten-free since October 2009.  I still get some anxiety when heading out to eat someplace new, but it's a lot better!  In addition to a gluten intolerance, I also manage an alphabet soup of mildly annoying conditions: hypothyroidism, endometriosis, asthma, migraines, IBS with a tortuous colon, supraventricular tachycardia, vasovagal syncope, and other food intolerances & allergies.  (I hesitate to list them, but perhaps it will help someone else.)

My work experience has been entirely geared toward serving others; it's important to me to serve the public and give back to the community in a meaningful way. I am currently a nursing student in an accelerated bachelor/masters dual degree nursing program at the University of Cincinnati to become a nurse practitioner, and I previously earned a Bachelor of Arts in International Affairs with a minor in Latin American Studies.  I recently started working as a patient care assistant/patient attendant in neuroscience & trauma at Cincinnati Children's -- the 3rd best in the nation!  In the past, I worked as a pharmacy technician, a server, a model/actress, and was in government for 4 ½ years with the Ohio Governor's office, a US Senator's office, UC's Office of Governmental Affairs, and the Embassy of Mexico.  I also competed twice at the Modeling Association of America International earning 4 awards and participated in the United Nations 54th Commission on the Status of Women.

I'm from the rural Chillicothe area and now live on the east side of Cincinnati.  I have three nieces (ages 10, 12, & 14); two nephews (1 & 8); and a godson (3).  My boyfriend is combat veteran who's now in an infantry unit of the Ohio National Guard and finishing a criminal justice degree.  Being on Let's Make a Deal is on our bucket list.  My mom is a budding author and retired primary teacher, and my dad is an excavating contractor and former volunteer firefighter/EMT.  They have a farm with baby Christmas trees, chickens, & ducks.  They are both cancer survivors – he’s an 11-year non-Hodgkin's lymphoma survivor, and she just finished maintenance chemo treatment for acute myeloid leukemia.  They were each treated at The James at OSU, and I hope to complete my masters-level clinicals there.  

I'm addicted to Instagram, enjoy thrift shopping, photography, hiking, Reds games, ancestry, and spending time with my family.  I am also active in the Cincinnati Celiac Support Group, FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association, National Guard Family Readiness Group, and volunteer with the American Red Cross.  Cancer and human trafficking are two additional causes that are dear to me.

If you'd like to connect with me, I'm available by email at glutenfreejess@gmail.com or on Facebook!

No comments:

Post a Comment